FIFA World Player 2009 nominees announced


FIFA today released their shortlist for the FIFA World Footballer of the Year 2009. The List is as follows for men: 

Michael Ballack (Germany)

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)

Iker Casillas (Spain)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

Diego (Brazil)

Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire)

Michael Essien (Ghana)

Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)

Steven Gerrard (England)

Thierry Henry (France)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)

Andrés Iniesta (Spain)

Kaká (Brazil)

Frank Lampard (England)

Luis Fabiano (Brazil)

Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Carles Puyol (Spain)

Franck Ribéry (France)

Wayne Rooney (England)

John Terry (England)

Fernando Torres (Spain)

David Villa (Spain)

Xavi (Spain).

FIFA Womens’s award nominees are:

Nadine Angerer (Germany), Sonia Bompastor (France), Cristiane (Brazil), Inka Grings (Germany), Mana Iwabuchi (Japan), Simone Laudehr (Germany), Marta (Brazil), Birgit Prinz (Germany), Kelly Smith (England) and Abby Wambach (USA).


Last years top 5 (L-R): Xavi, Torres, Ronaldo, Messi, Kaka


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.