The FIFA Puskás Award

FIFA Have launced the Puskàs Award for the “Goal of the Year” in honour of Hungarian legend Ferenc Puskàs. The nominees for the award are: 1. Emmanuel Adebayor – Villareal 1:1 Arsenal 2. Eliran Atar – Bnei Yehoda 1:1 Maccabi Netanya 3. Michael Essien – Chelsea 1:1 Barcelona 4. Grafite – Wolfsburg 5:1 Bayern Munich …

Continue reading

Sepp Blatter reveals that Ireland asked to be included as an extra team in the World Cup

The FAI has sent a “humble” letter to FIFA asking to be included as an extra team in next years World Cup. After the controversial hand ball from Thierry Henry that saw France qualify over Ireland, the Irish had asked for a match reply. That request was discarded by FIFA and now the FAI has …

Continue reading

FIFA World Player 2009 nominees announced

  FIFA today released their shortlist for the FIFA World Footballer of the Year 2009. The List is as follows for men:  Michael Ballack (Germany) Gianluigi Buffon (Italy) Iker Casillas (Spain) Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Diego (Brazil) Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire) Michael Essien (Ghana) Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon) Steven Gerrard (England) Thierry Henry (France) Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden) …

Continue reading

Load more