Ballon d’Or nominees..


Ballon d'Or

The prestigious Ballon d'Or awarded to the European Footballer of the Year

A couple weeks ago, Ballon d’Or nominees were announced. 30 European based players have been short-listed for this prestigious award. The nominees are:

Andrey Arshavin  (Arsenal)
Karim Benzema  (Real Madrid)
Iker Casillas  (Real Madrid)
Cristiano Ronaldo  (Real Madrid)
Diego  (Juventus)
Didier Drogba  (Chelsea)
Edin Dzeko  (Wolfsburg)
Samuel Eto’o  (Inter Milan)
Cesc Fabregas  (Arsenal)
Fernando Torres  (Liverpool)
Diego Forlan  (Atletico Madrid)
Steven Gerrard  (Liverpool)
Ryan Giggs  (Manchester United)
Yoann Gourcuff  (Bordeaux)
Thierry Henry  (Barcelona)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic  (Barcelona)
Andres Iniesta  (Barcelona)
Julio Cesar  (Inter Milan)
Kaka  (Real Madrid)
Frank Lampard  (Chelsea)
Maicon  (Inter Milan)
Lionel Messi  (Barcelona)
Luis Fabiano  (Seville)
Franck Ribery  (Bayern Munich)
Wayne Rooney  (Manchester United)
John Terry  (Chelsea)
Nemanja Vidic  (Manchester United)
David Villa  (Valencia)
Xavi  (Barcelona)
Yaya Toure  (Barcelona) 

La Liga has the most nominees with 12 players based in Spain nominated. The next is the Premier League with 10 nominees and only 4 coming from Serie A. The winner is voted by France Football Magazine and will be announced of the 1st December 2009. 

Over the next few weeks I will be profiling several of the nominees. Watch this Space…

European Footballer of the Year 2008

Last year's winner, Cristiano Ronaldo. Will he win it again?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.