Blaugrana Blitz: Barca boys shine at Professional Football League (LFP) Awards

FC Barcelona did well at the  Spanish Professional Football League 2010-11 where they won in almost every category. Players and managers of the league all voted and the awards were decided as follows:

Pep Guardiola was awarded the best manager of the La Liga (Premier Division). Lionel Messi bagged two awards, the best striker and the best player award. Messi scored 31 goals in the 2857 minutes he played last season. He edged out Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid  and Sergio “Kun” Aguero who is now at Manchester City. Xavi Hernandez won best midfielder for the 3rd year running (no surprise there, really) beating Xabi Alonso of Real Madrid and Javi Martinez of Athletic. Andres Iniesta walked away with the  best attacking midfielder award. Goalkeeper Victor Valdez edged out Iker Casillas and Eric Abidal won best defender after a rough season what with his surgery and ill health.

The only two awards that Bara were not awarded were Best newcomer (Iker Muniain – Athletic Bilbao) and Fairplay Award (Alberto Rivera).

Coach Pep Guardiola said he was “honoured” to receive the award: “I want to thank everyone who has voted and I share this award with the Barcelona players, who are the true heros, and the Barcelona Football Club for allowing me the opportunity to coach.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.