The FIFA Puskás Award

FIFA Have launced the Puskàs Award for the “Goal of the Year” in honour of Hungarian legend Ferenc Puskàs.

The nominees for the award are:

1. Emmanuel AdebayorVillareal 1:1 Arsenal
2. Eliran AtarBnei Yehoda 1:1 Maccabi Netanya
3. Michael EssienChelsea 1:1 Barcelona
4. GrafiteWolfsburg 5:1 Bayern Munich
5. Andres IniestaChelsea 1:1 Barcelona
6. Luis Angel LandinMorelia 1:1 Cruz Azul
7. Katlego MphelaSpain 3:2 South Africa
8. NilmarCorinthians 0:1 Internacional
9. Cristiano RonaldoPorto 0:1 Manchester United
10. Fernando TorresLiverpool 4:0 Blackburn Rovers

The nominees were chosen, and will be voted for according to :

1. Aesthetics (a subjective criterion – long-range shots, team moves, acrobatic goals etc)
2. The importance of the match (an objective criterion – in descending order: national teams, continental tournaments, domestic first divisions)
3. The absence of luck or an opposition mistake as a factor making the goal possible
4. Fair Play: the player must not have conducted himself poorly during the game or, for example, have been found guilty of doping
5. The date: goals scored between July 2008 and July 2009

Click Here to go to FIFA to see the videos and vote.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.